Half-remembered phrases

A small addendum to yesterday’s first post, on the subject of the title.

The phrase “And so we wave farewell to xxxxx, land of contrasts” is lodged in my brain as a memory from, I think, childhood but I don’t know where it comes from.  To me it is redolent of bright technicolor films giving a glimpse of exotic faraway places.  But that kind of thing is more associated with the fifties and sixties, rather than my childhood in the eighties. Hmm.

I’ve an idea it might be the closing line of Ladybird travelogue books, as I’m sure either my sister or I had “Flight One: Australia” and possibly some of the others in that series.  A quick check reveals that Peter Sellars uses similar language at the end of his novelty record “Balham – Gateway to the South” so perhaps I’ve also got it from there.

A google search throws up surprisingly few results, although Stephen Fry clearly has the same thing stored in his head as, on leaving Australia last year he tweeted ‘And so we say “Farewell, Melbourne land of contrasts. We will carry you in our hearts for ever”’.

We all possess a rich mental stew of half-remembered phrases, memes and tropes which have somehow stuck even though the original context is gone.  It’s an odd aspect of human memory and consciousness that I’d love to know more about.

2 comments

  1. exTRCcox · · Reply

    Alan Whicker? it’s redolent of the Python sketch…

  2. That does sound plausible.

Leave a Reply

